Daring Cooks 26th Challenge: Healthy potato salad

Jami Sorrento was our June Daring Cooks hostess and she chose to challenge us to celebrate the humble spud by making a delicious and healthy potato salad. The Daring Cooks Potato Salad Challenge was sponsored by the nice people at the United States Potato Board, who awarded prizes to the top 3 most creative and healthy potato salads. A medium-size (5.3 ounce) potato has 110 calories, no fat, no cholesterol, no sodium and includes nearly half your daily value of vitamin C and has more potassium than a banana!

After the gumbo recipe, this was a nice and simple challenge. Easy on the pocketbook too.

Better yet, I checked this challenge prior to the Memorial Day weekend in the U.S., meaning, grilling recipes flooded my inbox that week, many with great potato salad suggestions. I opted for the grilled potato salad recipe that came in the America’s Test Kitchen Friday e-newsletter. What I liked about it was that a) it was grilled, b) involved a vinaigrette instead of the usualmayonnaise/sour cream dressing, and c) had my favorite garnish: capers.

I’m not sure if I’m allowed to copy the recipe from the ATK’s site, so I erred on the safe side and provided the link above. I don’t know how long it will be valid. The recipe is simple, pre-boil red potatoes, cut in 3/4″ planks, until soft on the perimeter but still firm in the middle, cool and toss in olive oil, salt and pepper. Cut a yellow onion in four, keeping the skin on. Cut and devein a red pepper in thick slices. Season and toss both onion and pepper in olive oil. Grilled the vegetables until done. Remove skin from onions, chop vegetable in chunks. Toss while still warm with a marinade made with a classic 3-1 ratio of oil and vinegar, minced garlic and chopped fresh parley. The recipe called for white vinegar. I will use red wine vinegar next time I make this recipe. Add one to two tablespoons of capers. Serve at room temperature.

