Daring Cooks 17th challenge: Canning – Ginger Jalapeno Pepper Jelly

The September 2010 Daring Cooks’ challenge was hosted by John of Eat4Fun. John chose to challenge The Daring Cooks to learn about food preservation, mainly in the form of canning and freezing. He challenged everyone to make a recipe and preserve it. John’s source for food preservation information was from The National Center for Home Food Preservation. Although John provided an apple butter butter recipe to try, we were free to use any other favorite recipe. They key was to use one of the preservation techniques – freezing or hot water canning. I had done this type of canning before. Also, since buying a jar of ginger pepper jelly at Pike’s Market in Seattle, I wanted to see if I could somewhat replicate that recipe.

I started with a Jalepeno jelly recipe by Sue Delgrego, found on Allrecipes.com. I only did half a recipe, and it yielded almost three jars. I added a couple of heaping tablespoons of fresh pureed ginger. On a whim, instead of discarding the pepper pulp, I pureed it and added it back to the sauce pan. I don’t think I used quite enough gelatin, though. I couldn’t find liquid pectin anywhere, so had to resort to Knox gelatin sheets. Used three small ones. It’s a work in progress. Still, I like the final results. Packs a nice heat punch. On cream cheese and a bagel?… Hmmmm… Thanks for the challenge, John!

