Daring Cooks 15th Challenge: Nut Butters – Warm bacon and pecan butter dressing on a chicken spinach salad

The July 2010 Daring Cooks’ Challenge was hosted by Margie of More Please and Natashya of Living in the Kitchen with Puppies. They chose to challenge Daring Cooks to make their own nut butter from scratch, and use the nut butter in a recipe. Their sources include Better with Nut Butter by Cooking Light Magazine, Asian Noodles by Nina Simonds, and Food Network online.

Another challenge squeezed in the nick of time! Although I pureed my butter almost as soon as the challenge hit the wire, I didin’t use it until tonight. To be honest, though the recipe was left up to us, it had to be a savoury one. Took me a while to settle on one and ended up with a warm bacon/pecan butter dressing on a chicken spinach salad. A good choice, I thought, for a warm, but hot Summer night. Just mixed some hot bacon fat, white wine vinegar and pecan nut butter in hot pan, cooked it a bit and drizzled it over a bed of spinach, cooked chicken and bacon. Not bad at all. Next time, though, I’m going to add a few drops (!) of bourbon. Just to keep it southern and give it an extra kick. 🙂

