Daring Bakers 13th Challenge: Caramel Cake with Caramelized Butter Frosting

We were back with sweet stuff in this month’s Daring Bakers Challenge. Our hosts were Dolores of Chronicles in Culinary Curiosity, with co-hosts, Alex (Brownie of the Blondie and Brownie duo, Jenny of Foray into Food  and finally Natalie of Gluten-a-Go-Go, for the gluten free version of the recipe. Dolores chose Caramel Cake with Caramelized Butter Frosting, courtesy of Shuna Fish Lydon, as posted on the Bay Area Bites Blog.

I was happy to get the change to work with caramel again. My favorite ice cream topping is salted caramel sauce. I’ve made it a couple of times, but I still feel hesitant when working with it. It doesn’t take long before the desirably amber colour turns to dark brown, and you’ve burned your caramel. This time though, I was really happy with my caramel syrup. The colour and final consistency felt just right. The recipe made plenty more than what was needed for this recipe, which will give me a good excuse to make this recipe again.

In the end I did cupcakes and mini cupcakes. I really liked the cake portion, not too heavy and not too moist. The frosting was quiet sweet, but a bit of extra salt helped. as with the syrup, there was some frosting left over. Well worth the investment in time!

I can’t wait to see what the December challenge will be… 🙂

