Keeping the cooking fires going…

A challenge for any single home cook, intent on improving his/her skills in the kitchen, is often to find reasons to cook. Cooking for one is not terribly inspiring as times. There’s nothing like a challenge to get the creative juices, well, cooking! Luckily, there are plenty of sites and blogs to tickle any cook’s fancy and stir them into action. ;)

I’ve recently joined the Daring Bakers group, and am now working on my first challenge, due on October 29th. Stay tuned to this blog for the results. There’s a certain level of secrecy involved with this group, but anyone can join. Just email one of the organizers listed at the link above. Once on board, members get access to the DB blog to post and comments on fellow bakers posts and pictures. To my delight, I also found on this blog a series of other cooking challenges. There’s something for everyone there.

Tonight I decided to kill two birds with one stone by cooking Shrimp Saffron Risotto. I started with the Saffron Risotto with Grilled Shrimp recipe from the Food Network and adapted to what I had at hand. I was quite happy with the results.

The challenges answered were for:

Sunita’s World Blog, Think Spice…Think Saffron

The Baker & The Curry maker Blog, Risotto Relay

Next up…The Retro Recipe Challenge No. 9: The Candyman from the Chronicles in Culinary Curiosity blog.

Stay tuned!

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

